Quest review: Actually, it’s about ethics in underpants – Who Made Your Pants?

I hate pants.

So often I hear people say that the first thing they do when they get home at the end of the day is to take their bra off. For me, it’s my pants. Tight elastic, seams and rough scalloped edging that cut in and rub my skin raw, wedgies, bunching up, a poor, suffocated vulva. As soon as I walk in the door I throw them off in a rage and bask in glorious commando relief.

So, why am I writing a blog post about pants?

Enter: Who Made Your Pants?

WMYP? is a small workers’ co-operative based in Southampton, UK, whose goal is to employ refugee women by manufacturing pants from reclaimed fabrics. Talk about ethical! They also have a big focus on training their staff, not just to do the task at hand but also general employment skills.

Or rather, they were. I wrote the first draft of this post about a month ago. A few days later, Who Made Your Pants? shared the deeply unfortunate news that they were having to close down. This is a real shame, because they made pants that I did not hate, and did so with an admirable ethos.

2015-10-05 14.10.49

I only heard about them a few months before they closed, but in that time I replaced a large section of my knicker drawer with WMYP pants. They were expensive compared to the supermarket budget multi-pack pants I’ve always had, but cheaper than most of the matching knickers from mid-price lingerie brands like Panache or Playful Promises, and you know they were manufactured in safe and fair conditions for a decent wage. Plus there were often offers on, and they were available in sets for a little less. My favourites are these high waist stretch lace pairs – no side seams, no digging in, soft and colourful. They do get “eaten”, but I think they are meant to? In any case, they are comfy, I like how they look on me and they cope well with my waist:hip ratio.

Admittedly, I do still prefer to go without when I’m at home, but these make wearing knickers much more bearable, even enjoyable. I hope they’ll last.
who made your pants close

Zuhra & friends, thanks for all the pants. You will be missed.

One thought on “Quest review: Actually, it’s about ethics in underpants – Who Made Your Pants?

  1. Hi! I just discovered your blog via one of my faves, the Lingerie Detective, and am working my way back through your posts. I was totes delighted to see this post – I discovered WMYP a while ago and was super impressed by their designs and ethos. Then I decided to buy some a couple of months ago and when I found the site discovered they no longer existed, but can’t really find any info on what happened. Such a shame….so yep, I was really pleased to find your post that confirms I didn’t make it all up! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

