Quest wishlist: ALL THE CATS

wpid-wp-1442688100948.jpg

In July I adopted a cat from the local animal shelter. It had been a long, long time coming, but finally the moment had arrived. I was a month into my long-term (still ongoing) sick leave, so had plenty of time to devote to a pet, as well as very much needing the occupation and therapeutic benefits of living with a cat. The animal shelter is just a short drive from where we live, and is huge, with all kinds of rescued animals – it even has a chimpanzee enclosure (the inhabitants of which are not up for adoption). My partner and I were shown around rooms full of tiny kittens who clambered all over us, introduced to many little balls of fluff waiting to be taken home. But a pair of babies in our small flat and with my poor health would have been too much of a handful. “Well, there is this one cat who could do well with you – she needs to be homed alone because she behaves a little… strangely… with other cats.” We were lead to another room, where we were greeted warmly by a black and white wisp of a cat, who then walked up to her sleeping room-mate and, entirely unprovoked, hissed and gave him a good whack to the head, before sauntering back to us and curling up in my lap with a heavy purr.

She came home with us that day, and she is the feline love of my life.

Suffice it to say, I am a Cat Lady, and as such am quite partial to cat-themed fashion. Sadly my glorious cat-print dresses are all too small for me now, but I still have cat leggings, cat socks, cat jumpers, cat jewellery etc. One part of my wardrobe, however, is suspiciously devoid of cats: my underwear drawer. Which brings me to today’s wishlist!

(All product images are by the brands)

What Katie Did cat corset

what katie did corsetA special edition for Halloween, this retro corset from What Katie Did would make for a super luxurious costume. I really love how it is styled here with the cat-face veil and long gloves!

Mimi Holliday Absinthe cat collectionAW15-01-07-F.resized_1024x1024

Just look at it. LOOK. Cats! If you click on the image you can zoom in and take a good look at the detail. In this white lace it does kind of have a tiny-baby-dress aesthetic (it wouldn’t look out of place on a christening dress, or perhaps a delicate crib curtain), but still – who can resist underwear with CAT LACE? And if I recall the season preview correctly, there should be a black version coming, too, which is a little less newborn-ish. Like most Mimi Holliday collections, there are several different bra and knicker styles available, as well as matching suspenders and an eye mask. (NB. I like the URL for this product!)

Knickerocker cat briefs & crop top via Bluestockings Boutiqueil_570xN.523761507_9pba_grandeil_570xN.523766201_dpj0_grande

How cute is this handmade loungewear/nightwear set from UK indie designer Knickerocker?! So totally adorable, 100% my style and US-based LGBTQIA+ online lingerie store Bluestockings Boutique have it in stock and ready to ship (no waiting times!) – use ***THIS LINK*** to get 20% off!

Leg Avenue cat tights via ASOScattights

It is September. It is TIGHTS SEASON. This pair from ASOS is on its way to me right now, in fact, as when I looked them up to get the link I saw that they were (still are!) on sale, and you know how these things go. They will be a super cute way to cat-up an outfit this Autumn, perhaps peeking out of the top of my knee-high Dr Martens.

ASDA cat print tshirt bra5054532184825

I’ll be honest, I only came across this one while writing this post (all the other items I have long been coveting) and googling “cat bra”. From UK supermarket ASDA, this is such a darling pattern and only costs £4.50, if it’s still available in your size (I am impressed by their huge size range!). There are equally cheap matching pants, too.

Black silk satin cat eye mask from Naomilingerie on Etsyil_570xN.550269090_gu92

Last one! I’m not entirely sure if sleep masks count as underwear but lets just say yes, because this is a beauty. Handmade in France by Naomilingerie on Etsy, this mask is also available without the bow, in various fabrics and colours, and optionally stuffed with lavender for the ultimate relaxing catnap.

That’s all for now. I hope my fellow cat-ladies (and cat-people-of-non-binary-genders) enjoyed this selection and as always, if you have any similar recommendations to share then please do drop it in the comments or hit me up on twitter @theholybrail!

Until next time,
Miles

3 thoughts on “Quest wishlist: ALL THE CATS

Leave a Reply

