Quest Success: Bluebella Caterina

This is a bra that has been on my wishlist for a long time. Bright blue sheer mesh with black elastic edging & strap detail, and not a bow in sight!

(click images for links)

bluebella caterina
Photo credit: Bluebella

Bluebella is a low-mid budget British brand that was founded in 2005, and is now seemingly a subsidiary of or otherwise related to big online sex toy retailer Lovehoney. Most of their lingerie is boudoir-focussed, including an official 50 Shades range of bondage-inspired pieces. I hadn’t heard of them until I saw them featured as a guest brand with this particular set on Playful Promises. I fell in love with the design immediately – bold colours, no polkadots or florals or frou frou! However, I hesitated for a long time because it wasn’t available in my normal size (32E), and I was wary of the risk of once again having to pay international return shipping when things didn’t fit. But last month it was reduced in Bluebella’s summer sale, so I decided to take a chance on it, ordering 32DD and 34DD. Success! Shipping to Austria was free (=built-in to the cost) and fast, and the 32DD fit like a dream.

bluebella caterina and bts robe
Photo credit: the rubbish front-facing camera on my phone. Also featuring my darling cat & Between the Sheets Play Date modal-silk blend robe

The band is firm, which I like, and nice and broad with 3 rows of hooks – for once there is minimal armpit overhang! The side boning and fairly tall, wide wires help keep everything in place. The gore is too wide for me, encroaching on the breast tissue, but it sits flat, isn’t uncomfortable and doesn’t cause other fit problems, so it’s ok by me. The sheer mesh cups are stretchy and mould nicely to the body; with the single vertical seam they are gently supportive, just rounding off and flattening the “peaks” of my naturally pointy boobs. Unlike in the product photos, the black vertical seam is not central, but to the side, but I think that is just a boob-shape thing. The elastic straps across the top of the cups are soft and stretchy and don’t dig in, although the ones on the outer edges just get eaten by my armpits.  The design is modern and to me feels like what a bra in ~FUTURE YEAR 2015~ should look like! Honestly, it is so comfy and stylish and just me, I want to wear it always. It is a perfect everyday bra and I think I’m going to have to get creative to find an outfit that will show it off!

The Caterina bra is also available in black and a pretty new creamy pink, sizes 30-36B-DD, 38B-D, and as as you can see above there is a matching brief and suspender belt too.

skylar bralet
Photo credit: Bluebella

I also picked up Bluebella’s Skylar Ruffle bra in the sale. Frillier than I would usually go for but it was just a couple of pounds and looked cosy! And indeed the soft polyester chiffon triangle cups make this bra very comfy, great for lounging or sleeping. It is sized by band only and the 32 fit me fine in the cups (with plenty of side boob) but the band was extremely loose! The elastic is VERY stretchy and it offered no support at all; there was barely any use in even fastening it.  Even as a lounge piece it was too loose. I didn’t measure it before returning it but I reckon the 32 would be a better fit for someone who usually wears a 36 band.


Have you tried anything from Bluebella? Can you recommend me another bra or brand with this bold, bright, unfussy, modern aesthetic?

Leave a Reply

