Quest Wishlist: Sophie Hines

As I spend my Saturday evening packing up all this week’s tragically ill-fitting bras for return, I am already planning and dreaming of my next lingerie purchases.

Something a little different from the typical underwired, padded,. heavy.duty polkadot offerings can be found in these hand-made soft bralettes from USA-based independent designer Sophie Hines.

DSCN2389

(Photo credit Sophie Hines. Click photos for links!)

IMG_4673

These bras look so comfy and I love the style, with the sleek, thick elastic, harness designs and soft, plain jersey fabric and sheer meshes. It makes a change from highly structured wired bras and I while I do also like bright colours and lacy feminine touches, I find the no-frills, geometric designs much sexier and more appealing than the floral prints and polkadots prevalent in mainstream brands, without being boring either.

sophiahinescevianThese pieces may cost more than your basic bralette from H&M but considering they are of much better quality and Sophie makes them by hand in her own home in Nebraska, the prices are pretty reasonable. She offers worldwide postage, too. The bras are available in sizes XS-L, which correspond to small bust & small back sizes, up to a 37″ bust, though sizing is more flexible than with wired bras. I’m around a 30F-32E without too much projection, and think a medium or large could work for me.

IMG_5082These bras would look great layered under loose and low-cut dresses and tank tops. I am already dreaming of lounging around all summer in them, pairing them with cotton bike shorts and throwing over a tank top to go out… Once my refunds have come through I might have to place an order!

What do you think of Sophie Hines lingerie? Have you ordered from her? Do you know of similar designers I should take a look at?

Leave a Reply

